August 03, 2021

Cooley cracks second-team for all-SCC

Four Clarke Indians picked for all-conference boys basketball

Clarke’s Jack Cooley was received the highest honor of the four total Indians selected for all-South Central Conference boys basketball for the 2020-21 season.

Cooley’s season earned him a second-team selection by unanimous decision. Teammates Dalton Stubbe, Nick Neer and Kamis Bulis received Honorable Mention.

Cooley, one of two freshmen to make second-team, scored 304 points for a team-high. He also had 169 rebounds, 64 assists, 31 steals and 48 blocks, all of which led the Indians.

In the conference Cooley was tied for eighth in scoring with first-team selection Spencer Hixson of Knoxville, was third in rebounding, was sixth in assists, ninth in steals and led everyone in blocks. Cooley was also sixth in shooting percentage among those with 200 or more attempts, finishing the season with a clip of 48.3%.

Seniors Stubbe and Neer and junior Bulis’ season earned them Honorable Mentions from the SCC.

Stubbe scored the second most points on the team, tallying 158 on 35.8% shooting. He had 84 boards, 55 assists (seventh most in the SCC) and 25 steals in 19 games played.

Neer, in 17 games played, scored 113 points on 38.2% shooting. He grabbed 25 rebounds, assisted 20 scores and had 26 steals

Bulis’ season finished with him going 50% from the field on 78 attempts, scoring 93 points. He had 85 rebounds, 23 steals, 16 steals and 19 blocks (seventh most in the SCC) in 18 games played for the Indians.

All-South Central Conference boys basketball


**Blake Chance, Albia, Sr.; **Drew Chance, Albia, So.; Brayden Messamaker, Albia, Sr.; **Kieren Nichols, Knoxville, Sr.; **Ethan Davis, Eddy-Blakesburg-Fremont, Jr.; **Dalton Reeves, Davis County, Jr.; Spencer Hixson, Knoxville, Sr.


**Jack Cooley, Clarke, Fr.; **Brady Kauzlarich, Centerville, Sr.; **Luke Keitges, Knoxville, Sr.; **Noah Zmolek, Davis County, Sr.; Trey Griffin, Albia, Sr.; Thane Alexander, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.; Brooke Moore, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Fr.

Honorable Mention

Dalton Stubbe, Clarke, Sr.; Ivan Garcie, Davis County, Sr.; Mason Smith, Chariton, Fr.; Nick Neer, Clarke, Sr.; Nate Wynn, Albia, Sr.; Jackson DeMoss, Albia, Sr.; Mike Hudson, Knoxville, Sr.; Keegan Cox, Knoxville, Sr.; Jared McCrea, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.; Carsen Wade, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, So.; Kamis Bulis, Clarke, Jr.; Caedyn Glosser, Davis County, Jr.; Alex Lynch, Davis County, Sr.; Merrick Mathews, Centerville, Sr.; Brody Tuttle, Centerville, So.; Noah Keefer, Knoxville, Fr.

** = unanimous selection