Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Bluegrass all-conference volleyball teams released

Murray's Twila Barber hammers the ball earlier this season against Orient-Macksburg.
Murray's Twila Barber hammers the ball earlier this season against Orient-Macksburg.

The Bluegrass Conference has selected its all-conference volleyball teams earlier this week. Below is the full team from both the East and West divisions within the conference.

Murray had selections of Kinzee Eggers, Twila Barber and Rylee Newton as members of the west team.

Eggers led the team in kills with 152 in the 2019 season. Barber posted 123 kills and went 282-for-294 at serve with 50 aces.

Barber also had 25 assists with 67 digs. Eggers led the team in blocks with 64.

Newton posted the team high in assists with 152 to complement 61 digs. She also served 161-for-169 for the season.

Standings – Melcher-Dallas 14-8 (5-0); Lamoni 19-7 (5-0); Ankeny Christian 13-18 (4-2); Orient-Macksburg 5-15 (3-2); Moravia 10-14 (3-2); Murray 11-14 (3-2); Seymour 16-17 (2-2); Moulton-Udell 2-19 (1-3); Mormon Trail 4-21 (1-4); Twin Cedars 7-15 (1-5); Diagonal 2-17 (0-6); Grand View Christian 23-21 (N/A).


First team – *Kynser Reed, Junior, Melcher-Dallas; Riley Enfield, Junior, Melcher-Dallas; Bailee Batterson, Senior, Moravia; Thayda Houser, Senior, Seymour; Erin Hackathorn, Senior, Seymour.

Second team – *Haley Godfrey, Junior, Melcher-Dallas; Kacey Enfield, Junior, Melcher-Dallas; Jessica King, Junior, Moulton-Udell; Gracie Hoffman, Junior, Moravia; Rylee Dunkin, Freshman, Twin Cedars; Ali Mockenhaupt, Sophomore, Twin Cedars; Harley Trimble, Senior, Seymour.

Honorable mention – Grace Overgaard, Junior, Melcher-Dallas; Isabel Hanes, Junior, Moravia.


First team – *Abby Martin, Sophomore, Lamoni; *Maddie Maedal, Senior, Lamoni; *Kinzee Eggers, Junior, Murray; *Kaela Eslinger, Senior, Orient-Macksburg; Bradyn Boling, Junior, Ankeny Christian Academy; Leslie Guyer, Senior, Lamoni; Twila Barber, Junior, Murray.

Second team – Kamyrn Kuhles, Sophomore, Ankeny Christian Academy; Kassidy Quick, Sophomore, Ankeny Christian Academy; Erin Sobotka, Senior, Diagonal; Cameron Martin, Sophomore, Lamoni; Skylar Wastabaugh, Junior, Mormon Trail; Charlie Wilson, Junior, Mormon Trail; Rylee Newton, Senior, Murray.

Honorable mention – Sara Stevenson, Senior, Lamoni; Caitie Hohensee, Junior, Ankeny Christian Academy.

* = unanimous

Loading more