January 25, 2021

Indians, Cardinals perform at Coach Riley Invitational

GREENFIELD – Clarke and Central Decatur wrestling partook in tournament action Saturday, wrestling in the Coach Riley Invitational, hosted by Nodaway Valley.

Clarke scored 86 points, finishing 10th as a team. Central Decatur finished seventh, scoring 98 points.

“I thought we wrestled well,” said Brian Reece. “I tell our kids all the time I want them to wrestle at or above their seed and I believe we did that (Saturday). Ethan (Domina) was seeded second and got second, Jake (Smith) was seeded first and got first, Will (Smith) was seeded in top-four and got third. KJ, he did a really good job. He wasn’t seeded at all.”

At 106 Ethan Domina split his day, winning his semifinal match over Nodaway Valley’s Landon Klobnak but falling in the final to Mount Ayr’s Jarrett Webb.

Domina’s match against Webb went down to the wire, with Webb gaining a point with 19 seconds left in the third period to take an 8-7 lead. Domina had two reversals a takedown and an escape in the match loss, and had the score tied at 5-5 entering the third frame.

“He needs to work on his finishes. That’s a big thing. He’s getting in his shot, just has to work on the finish,” said Reece on Domina. “He’s got to get off his laces and hit the corner. He’ll be in good shape.”

Jake Smith (220) won his first two matches in pins under 25 seconds each, and then took SWV’s Dalton Calkins to the limit in an 8-3 decision win.

Will Smith (285) fell in the semis to eventual first-place finisher Devin Whipple of Bedford/Lenox, but won his third-place tilt over Clarinda’s Logan Green in a 1:17 pin.

“I’m really proud of those guys,” said Reece. “They stepped it up and wrestled really well, and our other guys got some experience.”

Also wrestling Saturday was Kacey Boyer, who didn’t score team points, and fell in both matches by pin.

Reece said there was some things needed to be fixed in some wrestlers, and will be addressed to help prevent it from happening in competition wrestling.

Cards place

Central Decatur’s day in Greenfield was long, but saw the Cards have wrestlers battle on the right side of the bracket into the early evening.

The Cardinals had a first-place finish by Zander Reed at 160. Reed went 3-0 on the day, pinning Clarke’s KJ Fry in the final at 3:42.

Dakota Boswell had a first-place finish at 182 as well, pinning Kaden Jacobs of SWV in 0:43.

Also placing for the Cardinals was Will Gillis at 126, who fell in the third-place match by an 18-3 technical fall against Knoxville’s Daniel Gorskikh.

Falling in his final match of the day was Logan Jones (145), who fell in the first-place match against Trae Ehlen of Mount Ayr. Jones was blanked in a 5-0 decision, placing second. Tegan Carson also fell in his final, losing in a 6-0 decision to Cole Rindour of Clarinda.


Team standings – 1. Mount Ayr 147.5; 2. Clarinda 126; 3. ACGC 112; 4. Pleasantville 109; 5. Bedford/Lenox 104; 6. Creston/O-M 99.5; 7. Central Decatur 98; 8. Southwest Valley 91; 9. Nodaway Valley 86.5; 10. Clarke 86; 11. Knoxville 60.

106 – First place: Drew Ehlen (Mount Ayr) tech. fall Kaden Whipp (Clarinda) tech. fall 4:52 (15-0); Third place: Brayden Maeder (Southwest Valley) dec. Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) 6-2; Fifth place: Mizael Gomez (Bedford/Lenox) bye.

113 – First place: Jarrett Webb (Mount Ayr) dec. Ethan Domina (Clarke) 8-7; Third place: Adyson Lundquist (Southwest Valley) by fall Landon Klobnak (Nodaway Valley) 2:52; Fifth place: Deann Wyant (Mount Ayr) bye.

120 – First place: Elliot Cooney (Nodaway Valley) tech. fall Devon Luing (Pleasantville) 3:54 (16-0); Third place: Brice Hull (Creston/O-M) maj. dec. Ayden Sunderman (Clarinda) 10-2; Fifth place: Joshua West (Mount Ayr) bye.

126 – First place: Ben Breheny (Nodaway Valley) pinned Caleb Cook (Pleasantville) 1:34; Third place: Daniel Gorskikh (Knoxville) tech. fall William Gillis (Central Decatur) 5:43 (18-3); Fifth place: Adam McElwain (Creston/O-M) bye.

132 – First place: Bryce Shaha (Mount Ayr) dec. Gunnar Larsen (AC/GC) 6-3; Third place: Luke Spaur (Knoxville) dec. Michael Mayer (Clarinda) 4-2; Fifth place: Brandon Briley (Creston/O-M) pinned Preston Fleharty (Mount Ayr) 1:14.

138 – First place: Seth Danker (AC/GC) pinned Kale Downey (Clarinda) 4:33; Third place: Jaxon Christensen (Nodaway Valley) pinned Kitt Lundy (Pleasantville) 2:40; Fifth place: Triston Barncastle (Creston/O-M) pinned Payton Fleharty (Mount Ayr) 3:52.

145 – First place: Trae Ehlen (Mount Ayr) dec. Logan Jones (Central Decatur) 5-0; Third place: Conner Fitzgerald (Bedford/Lenox) pinned Tyler Raybourn (Clarinda) 1:45; Fifth place: Dawson Muller (AC/GC) pinned Brennan Hayes (Creston/O-M) 5:35.

152 – First place: Jaydon Knight (Mount Ayr) pinned Cale Rowley (AC/GC) 2:32; Third place: Karson Downey (Clarinda) pinned Ross Stephens (Pleasantville) 1:01; Fifth place: William Bolinger (Creston/O-M) tech. fall Kale Kincaid (Knoxville) 5:18 (16-1).

160 – First place: Zander Reed (Central Decatur) pinned KJ Fry (Clarke) 3:42; Third place: Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) pinned Jacob Hiemstra (Pleasantville) 2:54; Fifth place: N/A.

170 – First place: Jake Cox (Bedford/Lenox) dec. Cristian Nolte (AC/GC) 14-8; Third place: Caelen DeVault (Nodaway Valley) maj. dec. Dillen Ammons (Pleasantville) 9-1; Fifth place: Bradlee Grantz (Southwest Valley) dec. Austin Seaton (Creston/O-M) 10-7.

182 – First place: Dakota Boswell (Central Decatur) pinned Kaden Jacobs (Southwest Valley) 0:43; Third place: Jed Weaver (Bedford/Lenox) dec. Brayden Nothwehr (Clarinda) 9-5; Fifth place: Gavin Montalvo (Knoxville) pinned Tony Ayase (Nodaway Valley) 0:20.

195 – First place: Cole Ridnour (Clarinda) dec. Tegan Carson (Central Decatur) 6-0; Third place: Colin Jacobs (Southwest Valley) pinned Alex Swanson (Pleasantville) 0:45; Fifth place: Gage Rowley (Knoxville) pinned Tyler Binning (Clarke) 0:32.

220 – First place: Jake Smith (Clarke) dec. Dalton Calkins (Southwest Valley) 8-3; Third place: Duncan Marshall (Bedford/Lenox) pinned Chris Wyant (Mount Ayr) 0:38; Fifth place: Quinten Fuller (Creston/O-M) pinned Michael McGriff (Pleasantville) 1:41.

285 – First place: Devin Whipple (Bedford/Lenox) pinned Matthew Kauffman (Pleasantville) 3:50; Third place: Will Smith (Clarke) pinned Logan Green (Clarinda) 1:17; Fifth place: Max Chapman (Creston/O-M) pinned Johnathan Rodriguez (Southwest Valley) 1:10.