Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

2019-20 All-South Central Conference teams released

Clarke puts handful of players on all-conference

Several Clarke boys basketball players were selected to the South Central Conference all-conference team for the 2019-20 season.

Umar Bulis led nominations for the Indians with a second team selection.

Bulis scored 242 points, averaging 17.3 across 14 games played. Bulis also shot 50.7% from the field, second in the conference among players with a minimum 100 shots made.

He also grabbed 128 rebounds, averaging 9.1 per game, ranking ninth in the SCC.

On honorable mention, Brian Avalos, Taylor Henry and Dalton Stubbe got the nod.

Avalos, a gritty do-it-all player, grabbed 73 rebounds and scored 105 points for the Indians. He also had 44 assists and 25 steals.

Henry had 190 points, grabbed 26 boards, and had 25 assists. He also led the Indians in steals with 30.

Stubbe led the Indians in points with 262, averaging 12.5 per game on 38.2% shooting. He had 120 rebounds, led the team in assists with 51, and had 18 steals. He was second on the team in blocks with 10.

Three selected for girls all-SCC

Three Clarke girls were selected to the all-South Central Conference team for the 2019-20 season.

Tori White was selected as a member of the second team, while Kaitlyn Halsband and Kiaya Dunbar got tabbed for an honorable mention.

White was the leading scorer for the Lady Indians, scoring 209 points for 10.4 points per game. Her scoring ranked her sixth in the conference.

She grabbed 118 rebounds for 5.6 boards per game. She had 22 assists and 20 steals in her junior campaign.

Kaitlyn Halsband scored enough to put her in the top-10 of scorers in the conference, averaging 9.4 per game on 198 points. Halsband’s scoring put her in seventh, 11 points behind White’s total.

Halsband was fifth in the conference in rebounds, grabbing 142 for 6.8 boards per game.

Kiaya Dunbar had 66 assists, fifth in the conference. She also had 34 steals and 14 blocks, the former of the two being a team-leading number.

Dunbar scored exactly 100 points, averaging 4.8 per game.

Boys SCC

First team – Blake Chance, Albia, Jr.; Kieren Nichols, Knoxville, Jr.; Matt McDonald, Centerville, Sr.; Quentin Koestner, Centerville, Sr.; Dalton Reeves, Davis County, So.; Dylan Cain, Chariton, Sr.; Jackson Curnutte, Chariton, Sr.

Second team – Joe Teno, Albia, Sr.; Brayden Messamaker, Albia, Jr.; Spencer Hixson, Knoxville, Jr.; Brady Kauzlarich, Centerville, Jr.; Umar Bulis, Clarke, Jr.; Kalen Walker, EBF, Sr.; Ethan Davis, EBF, So.; Noah Zmolek, Davis County, Sr.

Honorable mention – Nate Wynn, Albia, Jr.; Brian Avalos, Clarke, Sr.; Taylor Henry, Clarke, Jr.; Luke Keitges, Knoxville, Fr.; Lance Wallas, Chariton, Sr.; Dalton Stubbe, Clarke. Jr.; Hunter Koehn, Chariton, Sr.; Will Swarthout, Chariton, Sr.; Trent McCann, Centerville, Sr.; Merrick Mathews, Centerville, Jr.; Isaiah Smith, EBF, Sr.; Aidan Yates, EBF, Sr.; Thane Alexander, EBF, Jr.; Ivan Garcia, Davis County, Jr.

Girls SCC

First team – *Katie Keitges, Knoxville, Sr.; *Maggie Wilkins, Knoxville, Jr.; *Claire Mathews, Centerville, Jr.; *Mickey Stephens, Centerville, So.; *Madysen Wade, EBF, Sr.; *Emma Rector, Chariton, So.; *Hannah Schooley, Davis County, Sr.

Second team – Kaitlyn Kull, Centerville, Sr.; Rachel George, Centerville, Fr.; Emalee Davis, EBF, Jr.; RyLee, German, EBF, So.; Avery Hall, Chariton, So.; Morgan Petefish, Davis County, Jr.; Tor White, Clarke, Jr.

Honorable mention – Tara Uitermarkt, Knoxville, Jr.; Marley McKay, Knoxville, Jr.; Emma Dunkin, Knoxville, Fr.; Taylor Shinn, Centerville, Sr.; Claire George, Centerville, Jr.; Abby Tuttle, Chariton, Jr.; Grace Roberts, EBF, Sr.; Brooke Shaffer, EBF, Jr.; Sophie Spargur, Davis County, Sr.; Kaitlyn Halsband, Clarke, Jr.; Kiaya Dunbar, Clarke, Jr.; Ayana Thomas, Albia, So.; Sophie Waber, Albia, Fr.

* = unanimous selection

Loading more