August 03, 2021

Four Lady Mustangs receive all-conference honors

Four Murray Lady Mustangs received all-conference girls basketball honors from the Bluegrass Conference for the 2020-21 season earlier this month.

Leading the way for the four was Kinzee Eggers, receiving a first-team selection.

Eggers, a senior, was the leader for the Mustangs on the floor. Her 210 points were a team-high total (ninth in the Bluegrass), and her 44.3% from the floor also led the team.

She grabbed 65 rebounds, 17 steals and assisted on 20 scores. She had 19 blocks (fifth in the Bluegrass).

On the second team, Jayda Chew and Teryn Shields were selected.

Chew’s season saw her put up 157 points on 32.6% shooting with 69 rebounds and a team-high 68 steals.

Shields scored 143 points on 32.3% shooting from the field. She had 53 assists (ninth in the Bluegrass), 61 rebounds and 42 steals (second in the Bluegrass) and 13 blocks.

Megan Keller was Murray’s representative on Honorable Mention.

Keller, a senior, finished her high school basketball career with 113 points on 42.4% shooting. She had a team-high 114 rebounds with 25 assists and 35 steals this season. She also was second on the team in blocks with 16, trailing Eggers.

Standings – 1. Moravia 14-9 (7-3); 2. Lamoni 13-6 (10-0); 3. Murray 12-10 (8-2); 4. Twin Cedars 11-11 (7-3); 5. Mormon Trail 9-11 (6-6); T6. Diagonal 8-14 (4-5); T6. Melcher-Dallas 8-11 (4-5); 8. Moulton-Udell 7-13 (4-6); 9. Orient-Macksburg 4-17 (3-8); T10. Ankeny Christian 2-17 (1-8); T10. Seymour 2-17 (1-9).

Sportsmanship winner – Diagonal Maroonettes.

First team

**Abby Martin, Lamoni, Jr.; **Brooke Roby, Twin Cedars, Jr.; Skylar Watsabaugh, Mormon Trail, Sr.; Reece Potter, Lamoni, Jr.; Kinzee Eggers, Murray, Sr.; Kim Chandanais, Moravia, Sr.; Taylor Lumbard, Diagonal, So.; Kynser Reed, Melcher-Dallas, Sr.; Abbie Probasco, Moulton-Udell, Jr.; Jade Durfey, Seymour, Sr.

Second team

Audrey Lloyd, Lamoni, Jr.; Jayda Chew, Murray, So.; Teryn Shields, Murray, So.; Gracie Hoffman, Moravia, Sr.; Rylee Dunkin, Twin Cedars, So.; Anna Newton, Diagonal, So.; Hayley Godfrey, Melcher-Dallas, Sr.; Mia Shanks, Mormon Trail, Fr.; Jessica King, Moulton-Udell, Sr.; Caitlyn Gist, Orient-Macksburg, Sr.

Honorable mention

Kelly Lloyd, Lamoni, Fr.; Megan Keller, Murray, Sr.; Anaya Keith, Moravia, Sr.; Cheyanna Bruns, Twin Cedars, So.; Alaina Whittington, Diagonal, So.; Kacey Enfield, Melcher-Dallas, Sr.; Annika Shanks, Mormon Trail, Fr.; Karsyn Sebolt, Moulton-Udell, Sr.; Christa Cass, Orient-Macksburg, So.; Chloe Roe, Ankeny Christian, Fr.; Madison Keller, Seymour, Jr.

** = unanimous selection