July 21, 2024

Murray softball players names to Bluegrass Conference All-Conference Teams

Six Murray softball players were named to the Bluegrass All-Conference teams. First team players named were Jayda Chew by unanimous choice, Teryn Shields, Presley VanWinkle and Keirsten Klein; Kassy Saucedo was named to the second team and Cejay Kent received an honorable mention.

First team

Chew, a senior, will play outfield. This year, she had a 0.373 batting average with 38 hits, 41 runs, 13 RBI’s, one 2B, one 3B, one home run and 15 stolen bases.

Shields is a senior will be a utility player in left field and pitching. She had a 0.443 batting average this year with 43 hits, 47 runs, 30 RBI’s, 15 2B, three 3B, two home runs, 17 stolen bases, a 0.522 on base percentage and an 8-3 pitching record.

VanWinkle is a sophomore and will be pitching. She has a 17-3 overall pitching record, and this year had a 0.333 batting average, 32 hits, 34 runs, 22 RBI’s, five 2B and eight stolen bases.

Klein is a freshman, and will play third base. With a 0.515 batting average, Klein had 52 hits, 34 runs, 53 RBI’s that broke Murray school record, 12 2B, nine home runs, a 0.529 on base percentage and a 0.901 slugging percentage.

Second team

Saucedo, a senior, will play first base. She had a 0.980 fielding percentage this year, and at bat had a 0.261 batting average, 23 hits, 22 runs, 14 RBI’s, four 2B, one home run and two stolen bases.

Honorable mention

Kent is a junior, and received honorable mention as a second base/shortstop/outfielder. She had a 0.310 batting average this year with 26 hits, 21 runs, 12 RBI’s, five 2B and four stolen bases.