Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

SWCC honor society holds Fall 2019 Induction

Southwestern Community College (SWCC) hosted its fall induction for the Beta Eta Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019, at 5:30 p.m., in the Instructional Center, room 180.

The guest speaker for the event was Diogenes Ayala of Winterset, SWCC criminal justice instructor. Beta Eta Nu chapter officers for 2019-20 include Ella Rutherford of Niantic, Illinois, president; Chase Miner of Leon, vice president of leadership; Royce Bernard of Creston, vice president of scholarship; and Sadie Green of Creston, vice president of service.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees for the fall 2019 semester (as of Oct. 22, 2019) include Casey Allen of Afton; Riley Beard of Diagonal; Royce Bernard of Creston; Waverley Brown of Stanton; Paige Busch of Creston; Taylor Buxton of Creston; Brieann Byrd of Diagonal; Nicholas Campagnari of Leesburg, Florida; Hailey Chew of Murray; Patricia Duysen of Council Bluffs; Andrea Echeverria of Osceola; Storm Hoadley of Orient; Angela Kruse of Red Oak; Chandler Lane of Osceola; Juan Lopez of Osceola; Eli Loudon of Creston; Cayla Maitlen of Creston; Dennis Parks of Creston; Brice Phelps of Tingley; Tessa Powers of Creston; Emma Roan of Murray; Catherine Rotich of Creston; Alexis Schmitz of Afton; Danika Schultes of Creston; Rachel Sobotka of Mount Ayr; Micha Stephens of Creston; Kaleb Ver Linden of Red Oak; Jill Wallace of Greenfield; Keann Williamson of Saint Charles; and Kayela Willis of Whitewright, Texas.

Phi Theta Kappa International serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students worldwide. To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above.SWCC Phi Theta Kappa advisors are Jody Nedley-Newcomb and Kelly Marcus.

Loading more