Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Dillon Hightshoe named recipient of Iowa Select Farms Future Ag Leaders Scholarship

IOWA FALLS, Iowa (September 1, 2017) — Murray, Iowa, resident Dillon Hightshoe has been named an inaugural recipient of an Iowa Select Farms Future Ag Leaders Scholarship. A 2017 graduate of the Murray Community School District, he will apply the $500 grant to his Criminal Justice studies at Des Moines Area Community College.    

Dillon is the son of Melissa Wilson and a part-time employee of Iowa Select Farms at the Sow #20 facility.

The Iowa Select Farms Future Ag Leaders Scholarship Program is designed to provide annual scholarships to college students who are dependents of Iowa Select Farms’ employees and contractors and pursuing college degrees at an Iowa-based college or university. These scholarships and other opportunities for students provided by Iowa Select Farms help support and further the organization’s commitment to their employees and their families and to developing the next generation of agricultural leaders.

Students who are part-time employees or contractors for Iowa Select Farms are also eligible for the scholarships.

About Iowa Select Farms

Iowa Select Farms is the largest pork producer in Iowa and is committed to responsibly producing safe, nutritious and high quality pork for their customers and the food companies they serve. Founded by and privately owned by Iowa Falls natives Jeff and Deb Hansen, the company has 182,000 sows and annually produces nearly one billion pounds of pork. With 700 swine farms across the state, Iowa Select Farms is one of the leading economic engines to Iowa’s rural communities through employing more than 1,200 people, contracting with more than 345 farmers and supporting hundreds of local businesses throughout the state.

Loading more