Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

The results are in

The unofficial results are in for a special election held in Osceola Tuesday. The election was a result of former city council member Glenn Schaff’s resignation in May.

Schaff held the council’s at-large seat for 14 years, and was re-elected in the November 2013 election.

The four candidates were Dennis Page, Sarah Truitt, Brian McKnight and Douglas Gay.

Candidate Dennis Page, a Clarke County local and 1964 Clarke Community High School graduate, won the at-large position unofficially with a vote of 261.

Sarah Truitt, a 2005 Osceola transplant formerly of Missouri, earned 115 votes.

With the third amount of votes was Douglas P. Gay with 27 votes. Gay moved to Iowa from Florida in 2007.

Brian K. McKnight, a Clarke Community High School graduate, had the least amount of votes with six.

Page will hold the at-large position through the remainder of Schaff’s term, which ends December 2017.

There were 409 ballots cast in this special election, split between absentee ballots and wards one, two and three.

Loading more