Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

I-35 girls win second straight POI championship

MOUNT AYR — Interstate 35 won its second straight Pride of Iowa Conference girls track championship here on Monday, giving them three of the past four team titles.

The Roadrunners scored 106 points, as Wayne finished runner-up with 82 points. Central Decatur finished eighth with 38 points.

In the boys team standings, Interstate 35 placed fifth with 52 points and Central Decatur was ninth with 20 points.

The Roadrunner girls won a total of seven events, including four gold medals for senior Holly McKinney.

McKinney swept the individual distance events, winning the 3,000 meters, the 1,500 meters and the 800 meters for Interstate 35.

McKinney ran 11:52.70 in the 3,000 meters, 5:24.59 in the 1,500 meters and 2:32.76 in the 800 meters.

She also teamed up with Rachel Flickinger, Miranda Hahn and Cheyenne Hiatt to win the distance medley relay in 4:40.71.

The quartet of Jenna Sandquist, Flickinger, Natalie Johnson and Maddie Albers teamed up to win the sprint medley relay and the 4x100 relay.

The Roadrunners posted times of 1:57.44 in the sprint medley to edge out Lenox in 1:57.98, and 53.42 in the 4x100 relay.

Albers won an individual gold medal of her own, winning the 100 meters in 13.17 seconds. It was a tight race, as Demi Austin of Wayne ran 13.21 and Caitlyn Saxton of Central Decatur finished third in 13.29.

Hallie Linhart won the girls high jump with a clearance of 5-1 for Central Decatur's lone conference championship on the girls side.

On the boys side, Jon Simmons won the 110 meter high hurdles for Central Decatur's only boys conference championship. His time was 16.40.

The Cardinals ran the fastest time in the shuttle hurdle relay, but were disqualified.

For Interstate 35, Briar Vogel finished second in the long jump with a leap of 19-1 and placed third in the 400 meter dash with his time of 54.46.

Vogel also ran on the second place 4x400 relay team for the Roadrunners, joined by Zach Irelan, Zach Goering and Morgan Nelson. That group ran 3:43.60.

Dominic Cresta and Garrett Heckman doubled up points in both the 3,200 meters and the 1,600 meters for the Roadrunners.

Cresta took third in the 3,200 with his time of 10:41.34, while Heckman was fourth in 11:01.56. Cresta also took third in the 1,600 meters, running 5:07.33, while Heckman was fifth in 5:13.04.

Evan McKinney finished fourth in the 400 hurdles for the Roadrunners. His time was 1:02.57.

Loading more