Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

I-35 first, Clarke sixth at Clarke Invite

Interstate 35 ran away with the Class A team title here on May 1 at the Clarke Invite, scoring 174 points to distance itself from second-place Dallas Center-Grimes with 114 points.

Host Clarke finished sixth with 58 points.

Clarke's hurdlers shined once again, as freshman Bailey Zimmerman won the 100 hurdles with her time of 17.09. Interstate 35's Jenna Sandquist finished second in 17.69.

The Lady Indians also won the shuttle hurdle relay, running 1:12.82. Members of that team were Allyssa May, Solanna Zimmerman, Bronwyn Miller and Bailey Zimmerman.

Delaney May finished runner-up in the 800 meters, running 2:38.

Miller finished third in the long jump with a new personal best leap of 15-2.50.

Clarke's distance medley relay of Allyssa May, Elly Eddy, Vanessa Bakley and Delaney May finished third in 4:54.21.

The sprint medley relay team of Miller, Maddi Heath, Allyssa May and Delaney May took fourth place in 2:08.85.

The 4x400 relay team also finished fourth, running 4:44.01. That team consisted of Delaney May, Joni Burris, Heath and Bakley.

Interstate 35 won nine events, total.

Senior Holly McKinney won both the 3,000 meters and the 1,500 meters, running 11:49.85 and 5:33.90.

Freshman Cheyenne Hiatt made it a total distance sweep, winning the 800 meters in 2:36.75.

The Roadrunners won three of the four field events.

Kim Blackford won the discus competition with a throw of 95-7, while teammate Brittany Mease won the shot put with a heave of 30-0.50.

Sandquist picked up the victory in the long jump, jumping 15-4. Teammate Natalie Johnson finished fourth in the event with her jump of 15-2.

Interstate 35 also picked up wins in the 4x100 relay, 4x200 relay, 4x400 relay and the distance medley.

The 4x100 team of Sandquist, Rachel Flickinger, Johnson and Maddie Albers won in 53.41.

The 4x200 team of Haley Schaffer, Miranda Hahn, Josie Wickett and Flickinger ran 2:00.45 for the win.

The distance medley relay team of Flickinger, Hahn, Nadine Baumann and McKinney picked up the win in 4:48.46.

Loading more