Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Morris unanimous selection to SCC first team

Clarke senior Colin Morris earned first-team honors from the South Central Conference on the all-conference basketball teams. He was one of five players unanimously chosen to the first team.

Morris averaged 20.9 points per game in a breakout senior campaign that saw him break the school's single-game scoring record with a 41-point outburst in the opening game of the season against Central Decatur.

He averaged 23.8 points per game on 49.2 percent shooting from the floor in 10 conference games to lead the South Central Conference.

Morris also finished second on the team in rebounding with 139 total rebounds for a 6.3 per game average. He dished out 33 assists and recorded a team-high 29 steals.

It was a big improvement for Morris, who averaged 13.2 points per game as a junior to go with 3.7 rebounds.

Joining Morris as unanimous first-team selections were Daric Laing of Chariton, Michael Starcevich of Centerville, Matt Baker of Albia and TJ Hockenson of Chariton.

Clarke senior post player Brin Evins earned honorable mention.

Evins averaged 8.0 points per game to go with a team-leading 184 rebounds for an 8.8 per game average. Evins finished the year with 23 assists and 22 steals.

South Central Conference

Boys all-conference

(* — unanimous)

First team — Daric Laing*, Chariton, So.; Michael Starcevich*, Centerville, Sr.; Matt Baker*, Albia, Jr.; Colin Morris*, Clarke, Sr.; TJ Hockenson*, Chariton, So.; Trevor Swartz, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.

Second team — Garrett Faris, Centerville, Sr.; Willie Felderman, Chariton, Sr.; Kolton Gonnerman, Centerville, Sr.; Zach Hugen, Albia, Sr.; Jacob Jones, Davis County, Jr.; Christian Bengston, Chariton, Sr.; Justin Utt, Davis County, Jr.

Honorable mention — Isaac Hougland, Davis County, Sr.; Clay Roberts, Davis County, Jr.; Jared Armington, Centerville, Sr.; Brett Kauzlarich, Centerville, Fr.; Tanner Wynn, Albia, Sr.; Mason Cox, Albia, Sr.; Brandon Plate, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.; Jevin Jensen, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Jr.; Ben Morrett, Chariton, Sr.; Brin Evins, Clarke, Sr.

Loading more