21°FOvercastFull Forecast

Siefkas named AIB Founder’s Scholarship recipient

Published: Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014 9:32 a.m. CST

DES MOINES — Courtney Siefkas of Osceola has been selected to receive a full-tuition Founder’s scholarship upon her enrollment in the accounting major at AIB College of Business.

To be eligible for a Founder’s Scholarship, students must have a cumulative high-school GPA of 3.75 or higher and must submit written essays and a letter of recommendation.

The prestigious Founder’s Scholarships – which honor E.O. Fenton, founder of AIB College of Business in 1921 – are awarded to select first-year students who meet specified requirements and who attend AIB in the fall term immediately following their high-school graduation. The scholarship is renewable up to three years for recipients who maintain full-time status and earn a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA.              

AIB offers a range of scholarships and grants that are awarded based on academics, merit, leadership and service. The AIB Founder’s Scholarship pays the full tuition of $5,100 per term (up to $20,400 per year), less any federal or state financial aid a student receives.

In the past five years, $1,069,906 in Founder’s Scholarships has been awarded to AIB students.

Reader Poll

The 2016 Legislative luncheons are planned Friday, Jan. 29, Friday, Feb. 26 and Friday, March 25, at noon at Lakeside Casino. They are sponsored by Clarke County Development Corporation. Are you going?
Haven't decided