Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Members re-elected to Iowa State Fair board

DES MOINES — Members were re-elected to the Iowa State Fair board of directors during the state agricultural convention held last month in Des Moines.

The directors and their districts are Bill Neubrand, LeMars (northwest); C.W. Thomas, Guthrie Center (southwest); Alan Brown, Hampton (north central); Randy Brown, Osceola (south central); John Harms, Monticello (northeast); and Bob Schlutz, Columbus Junction (southeast).

Delegates from six geographic state fair board districts elect two board members each for a total of 12 directors. All terms are staggered two-year terms.

Other directors include Dave Hoffman, LeMars (northwest); Gary VanAernam, Exira (southwest); James Romer, Ames (north central); Jerry Parkin, Earlham (south central); Paul Vaassen, Dubuque (northeast); and Gary McConnell, Bloomfield (southeast).

A. Brown, Romer and Harms will serve the board as president, vice-president and treasurer, respectively.

Directors by office held are Gov. Terry Branstad (represented by Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds), Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey (represented by Michael Naig) and Iowa State University President Dr. Steven Leath (represented by Dr. John Lawrence, director of 4-H Extension to Agricultural and Natural Resources at Iowa State University).

"Nothing Compares" to the 2014 Iowa State Fair is scheduled Aug. 7-17. The fairgrounds are located at East 30th and East University Avenue, just 10 minutes east of downtown Des Moines. For more information, call 800/545-FAIR or visit iowastatefair.org.

Loading more