Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Area wrestling

Wildcat Clash

STUART — The Interstate 35 wrestling team won the West Central Valley Wildcat Clash championship here on Dec. 14.

The Roadrunners went 4-0 in Pool B action and then defeated Collins-Maxwell-Baxter in the championship dual.

“We had some kids that were kind of sick. We had some open holes during the day and we had some kids get sick during the day,” Interstate 35 head coach Randy Calvert said. “So there were some duals we gave up 30 points in forfeits.”

The Roadrunners started the day with a 42-37 win over Moravia in Pool B action.

“Our toughest dual of the day was our first one against Moravia,” Calvert said.

Sal Arzani and Wade Hiatt won matches by fall to help propel the Roadrunners, who also won five matches by forfeit.

Next, the Roadrunners defeated a Panorama team that had beaten Interstate 35 the week before. This time, Interstate 35 came out on top, 44-27.

Austin Pontier won a technical fall over Garrett DeYoung at 120 pounds to start things off for the Roadrunners. Paul Queck earned a pin in 4:39 at 138 pounds over Tyler VanHouten. Dante Arzani collected a pin at 170 pounds over Daimean Canfield in :37.

Interstate 35 then defeated Waukee’s JV team 47-30. The Roadrunners lost only two matches in which they wrestled in the dual against Waukee.

Sal Arzani (160), Dante Arzani (170), Wade Hiatt (195), Lonnie Harper (220), Bobby Heilman (285) and Pontier (113) all pinned their opponents in the dual against Waukee.

The Roadrunners received a bye in round four of the pool competition and then took out West Des Moines Valley’s JV team 46-34 in the final round of pool competition.

Interstate 35 lost just one match it wrestled against Valley.

Queck (132), Logan Adair (160), Shane Winslow (220), Heilman (285) and Pontier (113) all earned pins in the win over the Tigers.

In the championship dual against Collins-Maxwell-Baxter, the Roadrunners lost just one match in which they wrestled. Interstate 35 won the dual 42-30.

“In the championship match against CMB, they had an open weight class, too,” Calvert said. “We had a lot of pins. At the end of the day, it was probably the best wrestling we’d done in a while. The kids were confident. The match against CMB, we had to pull a few out of the fire.”

Queck (132), Sal Arzani (152), Hiatt (195), Winslow (220) and Heilman (285) all pinned their opponents in the championship dual.

“Having Paul Queck back in the lineup helped,” Calvert said. “I thought Bobby (Heilman) did a nice job. There were a couple time we needed to have pins and he got them. Every dual somebody stepped up. It was a total team effort. In our last dual with CMB, Wade Hiatt needed to get a pin for us and he got it.”

Interstate 35 42,

Collins-Maxwell-Baxter 30

106 — Nathan Phillips (I-35) won by forfeit; 113 — Austin Pontier (I-35) dec. Jacob Hennick (CMB), 6-1; 120 — double forfeit; 126 — Beau Iske (CMB) won by forfeit; 132 — Paul Queck (I-35) pinned Bailey Holgate, :27; 138 — Evan Bianchi (CMB) won by forfeit; 145 — Nick Leonard (CMB) won by forfeit.

152 — Sal Arzani (I-35) pinned Frank Mittlestadt (CMB), 3:00; 160 — Logan Adair (I-35) dec. Jordan Coughenour (CMB), 12-11; 170 — Shane White (CMB) won by forfeit; 195 — Wade Hiatt (I-35) pinned Charles Robertson (CMB), 3:30; 220 — Shane Winslow (I-35) pinned Archer McFadden (CMB), :54; 285 — Bobby Heilman (I-35) pinned Dawson Dahlke (CMB), :33.

POI Tourney

BEDFORD — Central Decatur claimed the team championship at the Pride of Iowa Conference Tournament here Saturday, finishing with 193 points. Interstate 35 finished fourth with 132 points.

Southeast Warren took second with 173 points and Bedford/Lenox was third with 161 points.

Both Central Decatur and Interstate 35 had two individual champions.

Sal Arzani won the championship at 152 pounds with a 10-4 decision over Southeast Warren’s Jacob Hoch, while Lonnie Harper took the 220 pound championship by pinning Wayne’s Tate Van Dyne in 3:04.

Central Decatur’s Dallas Walker won the championship at 170 pounds by pinning Bedford/Lenox’s Seth Willets in 3:03. Trenton Wells won a 7-6 decision over Southwest Valley’s Zach Barton to win the 182 pound championship.

Pride of Iowa Conference Tournament

Team standings (champions) — 1. Central Decatur (2) 193, 2. Southeast Warren (4) 173, 3. Bedford/Lenox (3) 161, 4. Interstate 35 (2) 132, 5. Mount Ayr (2) 106, 6. Southwest Valley (1) 94, 7. Pleasantville 89, 8. Nodaway Valley 54, 9. East Union 42, 10. Wayne 33, 11. Martensdale-St. Marys 26.

Final round

106 — 1. Colby Lange (B/L) dec. Nathan Phillips (I-35), 3-0.

113 — 1. Jared Hensley (B/L) dec. Austin Pontier (I-35), 6-3; 5. Craig Beavers (CD).

120 — 1. Dusten Reed (B/L) pinned Jonathon Hardy (SEW), 1:15.

126 — 1. Gabe Henderson (SEW) dec. Logan Wood (SWV), 11-5; 3. Josh Mitchell (B/L) major dec. Chance Masters (CD), 16-6.

132 — 1. Jake Hunderdosse (SEW) pinned Grant Staats (MA), 2:52; 3. JD Lyman (NV) dec. Kade Kelso (CD), 10-6; 5. Paul Queck (I-35) pinned Sawyer Andresen (B/L), 2:55.

138 — 1. Erik Freed (MA) pinned Sawyer Phillips (P), 1:47; 3. Brennon Short (CD) pinned Nash Wiegert (MSM), 3:54.

145 — 1. Alex Mitchell (SEW) dec. Darin Martin (CD), 4-2 OT; 5. Dylan Corneilson (NV) major dec. Logan Adair (I-35), 13-5.

152 — 1. Sal Arzani (I-35) dec. Jacob Hoch (SEW), 10-4; 3. Wyman Reed (CD) dec. Cal Daughton (MA), 13-7.

160 — 1. Kallan Schmelzer (SWV) dec. Colton Ranney (CD), 9-6; 3. Blade Baker (W) pinned Angelo Madonia (I-35), 3:11.

170 — 1. Dallas Walker (CD) pinned Seth Willets (B/L), 3:03; 5. Dante Arzani (I-35) pinned Dylan Trusty (SEW), :44.

182 — 1. Trenton Wells (CD) dec. Zach Barton (SWV), 7-6.

195 — 1. Ty Schnieder (SEW) pinned Tyler Miller (EU), 3:04; 3. Trace Carson (CD) pinned Scott Palmer (SWV), 1:18.

220 — 1. Lonnie Harper (I-35) pinned Tate Van Dyne (W), 3:42; 5. Jacob Roach (CD) pinned Brian Jimenez (SEW), :56.

285 — 1. Joe Ricker (MA) injury def. Austin Blades (CD); 3. Bobby Heilman (I-35) pinned James Haberling (P), 1:28.

Loading more