Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Diehl, Hooper win in contested races

Candidate Dan Hooper pulled off an upset over incumbent Councilwoman Sarah Truitt in the race for the seat of Osceola City Council, Ward 2.

In Tuesday’s election, Hooper had 107 votes. Truitt had 76. The city-council position is a four-year term.

These are the other unofficial results from the office of Clarke County Auditor for the city council and mayoral elections.


In Osceola, there were three candidates vying to be elected mayor. Incumbent Fred Diehl emerged as the victor in the election.

Diehl had 244 votes. The other two candidates were Steve Squier and Ron Eshelman. Squier had 181 votes and Eshelman had 38 votes. The office of mayor is a two-year term.

Incumbent Councilman Glenn Schaff was running for re-election for Osceola City Council’s at-large seat. He ran unopposed in the election.

Schaff had 394 votes. The seat is a four-year term.

Voter turnout

In Tuesday’s election, there were 2,978 registered voters and 476 people voted in the election. This is approximately 16 percent of the voting population in Osceola.

The results for Murray and Woodburn’s city council and mayoral elections weren’t available on Clarke County’s website at the time of publication. They will run in an upcoming edition of the Osceola Sentinel-Tribune.

Loading more