Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

2013 champions crowned at CCS

As the season came to a close, we capped off the season crowning our 2013 track champions and a new record car count of 88 cars at the Clarke County Speedway on Sept. 21.

The Jr. FWD’s were up first in the feature events. Niki Sparks led the field early until Logan Richards took over and ran away with his second win in a row. Sparks finished in second, followed by Chase Rudolf, Kaylie Camden, and Katelyn Byrd. With a second place finish, Niki Sparks sealed her first career track championship. Kaylie Camden and T.J Woods filled out the top 3 in the point standings.

Nine Pro 4 Trucks were on hand for their main event. Point champion Garrit Mckee and defending champion Kyle Byrd led the field to the green. Mckee took the early lead with Byrd and Garrett Nelson challenging for the lead. Mckee held them off to grab his fifth victory of the season and his first track championship in the division. Byrd followed in second with Nelson third. Fourth went to Cody Mundy and John Bakely in fifth.

Veteran CCS driver, Joshua Camden and two-time defending champion Jamie Black led the field for the FWD Street Stocks. Black had the lead for the majority of the race until Tanner Gottman made the pass on the high side in the closing laps of the event to earn his first win of the season at CCS.

Dean Richards made the charge to the front from the ninth position to finish in second. Black was third with Jacob Camden in fourth and Steven Fenton fifth. Joshua Camden finished in seventh, but still captured his first career track championship in the FWD Street Stocks. Jamie Black finished in second and Josh’s brother Jacob Camden was third.

A new record of 14 CCS B-Mods signed in and started the feature on the season championship night. Colton Nelson led all 16 laps for his first career win in the class, despite challenges from Red Oak’s Chris Bozwell. Bozwell finished second, Colton Livezey was third, Geary Phillips in fourth and Jack Meyer in fifth. Nelson was the track champion with Josh Bear finishing in second and Jason Mason in third.

The Micro Sprints were up next for their 24-car, 20-lap feature. Ben Woods from Newton led most of the feature to capture his first win of the season at CCS. Defending champion Russ Prather made the charge from the 10th starting spot to finish close behind in second. Tyler Nelson from Olathe, Kan., was third, Brandon Worthington was fourth and rounding out the top five was Knoxville’s Dan Henning. The track championship went to Eric Bridger. Second was 2011 champion Brad Comegys and third was Ben Woods.

A familiar face and all time leader in feature wins at CCS found himself once again leading the way in the Outlaw Hobby Stocks. Trevor Tanner was out front early until Garrett Alexander worked his way around Tanner for the lead just before the halfway point of the feature. Randy Johnston followed in second and Darin Dezwarte in third.

In the end, Alexander ran away with the win for his second on the season. Johnston finished third. Cassidy Buckingham made the charge to third with Trent Jeanes in fourth and Dezwarte in fifth. Trevor Tanner was crowned the 2013 track champion. Randy Johnston is second. Alexander gained enough points to take third in points.

After the feature events, John Bakely won the Pro 4 Truck trophy dash. Steven Fenton won in the FWD Street Stocks and Randy Johnston in the Outlaw Hobby Stocks. Rick Germar won the battle over Chris Bozwell in the B-Mod King of the Hill challenge. Ken’s Racing Pix best appearing car award winners were Eric Bridger (Micro Sprints), Jason Mason (B-Mods), Garrett Alexander (Outlaw Hobby Stocks), Garrit Mckee (Pro 4 Trucks), Andy Forcht (FWD Street Stock), and Niki Sparks (Jr. FWD).

We would like to thank everyone for coming out the speedway this season. It has been a great season and we look forward to 2014!

Loading more