Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Forsyth wins Micros; Mckee wins Pro 4 Truck thriller

Saturday night provided another great night of racing for the fans for the Osceola Park and Recreation night along with honoring the Clarke Lady Indian softball team on their accomplishments at state this past week. A new record car count of 84 cars also welcomed everyone at the speedway.

First up was the Jr. FWD’s and Katelyn Byrd had the lead early and led the first four laps until Alan Delker took over and led the field to the checkers for his second win in a row. Byrd finished in second, third Niki Sparks, fourth T.J Woods and fifth Kaylie Camden.

The class that can be called “too tough to tame”; the Pro 4 Trucks was up next with a nine truck field. Garrit Mckee from Indianola wasted no time to get to the front as he had the lead on lap one from his fourth starting position. Kyle Byrd stayed close behind as they both battled and swapped the lead for several laps, but in the end it was Mckee capturing his second win of the season at CCS. Byrd finished a close second. Cody Mundy and Garrett Nelson were both closing in on the top two drivers but, they settled for third and fourth. Kristin Clark from Osceola was fifth.

A new record of 31 Iowa Micro Sprints signed in for Saturday’s action. After four heat races and a b-main, the twenty car field was set for the A-Main. Cory Forsyth from Knoxville used his front row starting position to take his first feature win in the Micro Sprints at CCS. New point leader Eric Bridger followed close behind in second. Frank Galusha from Lincoln, Neb., was third after starting ninth. St. Joseph, Missouri’s Brendon Clark finished fourth and rounding out the top five was Omaha’s Jared Klabunde.

Another strong field of CCS B-Mods followed the Micro Sprints. James Reichart from Indianola held the lead for the majority of the race until Rick Germar worked his way to the lead on lap 11. Chris Bozwell and Colton Nelson battled for the third postion. Rick Germar held on for his third win in a row. Reichart, Bozwell and Nelson followed and Scott Bear finished in fifth.

The Outlaw Hobby Stock and FWD Street Stock features were postponed to August 10. That race will feature the annual powder puff and mechanics races. Along with the CCS B-Mods, Pro 4 Trucks, Jr. FWD and double features for the Outlaw Hobby Stocks and FWD Street Stocks. It will be an action packed night you will not want to miss. For more information visit www.clarkecountyspeedway.com.

Loading more