September 28, 2021

Three Lady Indians make all-SCC girls basketball team

Three Clarke Lady Indians cracked the all-South Central Conference girls basketball team for the 2020-21 season.

Kaitlyn Halsband, Ali Henry and Tory Henry each were selected as Honorable Mentions for their efforts for the 6-13 Lady Indians.

One of five seniors, Halsband led the team in points scored with 161 on 36.5% shooting, ranking her 12th in the South Central Conference in scoring. She was third on the team in rebounds with 85 and had 12 steals, 10 assists and one block. She started in all 19 games played.

The Henry duo, both freshmen, ranked second and third in team scoring with Tory Henry scoring 152 points for second on the team.

Ali Henry was third, scoring 138 points. Halsband, Tory and Ali Henry were the only Lady Indians to crack triple digits in scoring this season for Clarke.

Leading the team in rebounding was Ali Henry with 107 boards, 45 coming off the offensive glass (ninth in the SCC). She also had 65 steals (fourth in SCC) and 25 assists.

Tory Henry led the team in 3-pointers made with 23 (23.5% shooting) and grabbed 79 rebounds, asissts 23 scores and stole the ball 39 times.

All-SCC girls basketball

First-team – **Claire Mathews, Centerville, Sr.; **Mickey Stephens, Centerville, Jr.; Rachel George, Centerville, So.; **Maggie Wilkins, Knoxville, Sr.; Avery Hall, Chariton, Jr.; Macy Hill, Davis County, Jr.; Whitney Klyn, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, So.

Second-team – Emma Rector, Chariton, Jr.; Halle Hundman, Albia, Sr.; Claire George, Centerville, Sr.; Emma Dunkin, Knoxville, So.; Leah Doran, Chariton, Jr.; Briley Lough, Davis County, Jr.; Brooke Shafer, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.

Honorable Mentions – Kyla Moore, Centerville, Sr.; Marley McKay, Knoxvile, Sr.; Tara Uitermarkt, Knoxville, Sr.; Mackenzie Snook, Chariton, Fr.; Sophia Young, Davis County, So.; Morgan Petefish, Davis County, Sr.; Emalee Davis, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Sr.; Rylee German, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Jr.; Kaitlyn Halsband, Clarke, Sr.; Ali Henry, Clarke, Fr.; Tory Henry, Clarke, Fr.

** = unanimous selection