December 08, 2022

Election Day is Nov. 8

With early and absentee voting underway, those waiting to vote have until 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 8 to cast their ballots in the 2022 general election.

The polls will open from 7 a.m. to 8 a.m. and voters will decide on local and state officials, plus a proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution.

Residents of unincorporated Clarke County will also have a chance to vote on a local option sales and service tax (LOSST) to be imposed in their area, which will see the funds go to secondary roads and bridges.

All LOSST funds go to the Clarke County Reservoir Project.

How to vote

The deadline for pre-registration for voters and mailed absentee ballots was Oct. 24. Now, eligible voters can either register on Election Day, or by absentee ballot in the Auditor’s Office; voters must have an approved form of identification and residence.

Absentee voting is available at the auditor’s office in the courthouse during regular business hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. until Nov. 7. Extended voting hours will be offered on Saturday, Nov. 5 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Voters who wish to vote in person will find their polling places based on their residence. Polling locations for some voters changed with the primary elections in June.

Any voter who is physically unable to enter a polling place may vote from their vehicle; for more information, one should contact the Auditor’s Office.

Public testing of voting equipment was held at the courthouse on Nov. 1.

On the ballot

The following are local candidates seeking election:

• Board of Supervisors District 2: Randy Dunbar (R); Marvin McCann (D)

• County Recorder: Peggy Cummings (D-incumbent); Selena Humphrey (R)

• County Attorney: Adam Ramsey - R-incumbent

• Country Treasurer: Jessica Smith - R-incumbent

• Township candidates:

Green Bay Trustees: Brian V. Mateer; Rickie M. Oshel

Green Bay Clerk: None

Knox Trustees: Matt McCann; Kelly Curnes

Knox Clerk: None

Ward Trustees: Arthur Pontier; None

Ward Clerk: Bill Kelso

Doyle Trustees: None; None

Doyle Clerk: None

Madison Trustees: Andy Keller; Mark Bright

Madison Clerk: Rita Kay Griffith

Troy Trustees: Darrell D. Carson; Randy Callison

Troy Clerk: Janiece Hood

Washington Trustees: None; None

Washington Clerk: None

Fremont Trustees: Randy Barnard; Justin Bever

Fremont Clerk: Barry Mateer

Osceola Trustees: None; None

Osceola Clerk: None

Liberty Trustees: Robert Asmus; Cindy Henry

Liberty Clerk: Judy Barber

Franklin Trustees: Steve W. Smith; Jason Boyer; Dusty Hamilton

Franklin Clerk: None

Jackson Trustees: Janice VanWinkle; Donna Carson

Jackson Clerk: Mary Pett

• For County Public Hospital Trustee: Deb Lundquist; Teresa Woods; Don Waltz; Kelly Blanchard

• For County Soil And Water Conservation District Commissioners: Christopher S. George; Norman Lust

• For County Agricultural Extension Council: Leslie Ruby; Rita Kay Griffith; Linda Abbott; Darbi DeVore; Kelly Myers

Candidates at the state level:

• United States Senator

Chuck Grassley - R-incumbent

Michael Franken - D

• United States Representative - District 3

Zach Nunn – R

Cindy Axne - D-incumbent

• Governor/Lieutenant Governor

Kim Reynolds/ Adam Gregg – R-incumbent

Deidre DeJear/ Eric Van Lancker – D

Rick Stewart/Marco Battaglia – L

• For Secretary Of State

Paul D. Pate – R-incumbent

Joel Miller - D

• Auditor Of State

Todd Halbur – R

Rob Sand - D-Incumbent

• Treasurer Of State

Roby Smith – R

Michael L. Fitzgerald - D-Incumbent

• Secretary Of Agriculture

Mike Naig – R-Incumbent

John Norwood - D

• Attorney General

Brenna Bird – R

Tom Miller - D-Incumbent

• State Representative District 23

Ray Bubba Sorensen - R

• State Representative District 24

Joel Fry - R-incumbent

• Questions to be answered on the ballot:

Shall the following judges be retained in office?

Supreme Court Justice

Dana L. Oxley- incumbent

Matthew McDermott-incumbent

Court of Appeals judge

Gina Badding- incumbent

Paul B. Ahlers- incumbent

District 5B court judge

Dustria Relph

Constitutional Amendment

• Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?

Article I of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is amended by adding the following new section: Right to keep and bear arms. Sec. 1A. The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The sovereign state of Iowa affirms and recognizes this right to be a fundamental individual right. Any and all restrictions of this right shall be subject to strict scrutiny.

Yes or No

• Unincorporated area of the County of Clarke – Public Measure B

Shall the following public measure be adopted? A new local sales and services tax shall be imposed in the unincorporated area of the County of Clarke at the rate of one percent (1%) to be effective on July 1, 2023, until an automatic Real date of June 30, 2033.

Revenues from the sales and services tax are to be allocated as follows:

0% for property tax relief in the unincorporated area of Clarke County

100% for the construction, reconstruction and maintenance of Secondary Roads and Bridges in the unincorporated (rural) area of Clarke County, including for rock and culverts.

Yes or No

Polling locations

Some polling locations for voters changed recently. The following at the polling locations in Clarke County:

• Middle Precinct (Ward, Knox & Green Bay Twps.): Clarke Co 4h-Bldg

• Murray Precinct (Madison, Troy & Doyle Twps. And Murray City): Murray Com Center

• North Precinct (Washington, Fremont & Osceola Twps): Osceola Eagles Bldg

• Osceola 1st Ward Precinct: Lifepoint Assembly Of God Church

• Osceola 2nd Ward Precinct: United Methodist Church

• Osceola 3rd Ward Precinct: Osceola Country Club

• Woodburn Precinct (Liberty, Jackson & Franklin Townships & Woodburn City): Woodburn Legion Hall


For any questions regarding polling locations, voting in your vehicle, providing proof of identify and residence, or other election questions, contact the Clarke County Auditor and Commission of Elections Janice White at 641-342-3315 or at