Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Four Cardinals earn all-POI honors

Central Decatur softball had four members of its 2019 squad earn all-conference recognition from the Pride of Iowa Friday.

Three different Cardinal members earned second team distinction as Kylee Rockhold, Maizee Lindsey and Riley Bell were all recognized.

Rockhold wrapped up her frehsman season with the Cardinals as both the teams best hitter and most reliable pitcher.

During her freshman year, Rockhold hit for a .458 batting average and slugged a .635 clip. She also had a home run, 10 doubles, two triples and 18 RBIs.

In the circle Rockhold threw 101 2/3 innings pitched, posting a 2.75 ERA with 109 strikeouts and an opponent batting average of .229.

Her fellow pitcher in Riley Bell was also honored as an all-conference second teamer.

Bell threw 81 1/3 innings with a 2.67 ERA while striking out 86 hitters along the way. She allowed opponents to hit a measly .234 off of her over the course of the year.

At the plate Bell hit for a .206 batting average and was second on the team in RBIs with 20. She had two home runs, four doubles, a triple and stole five bases over the course of the season.

As the backstop for both Rockhold and Bell, Maizee Lindsey earned second-team all-conference honors for her work in 2019.

Lindsey posted a team high 21 RBIs to go along with two home runs and a .320 batting average. She also had a slugging percentage of .474 and had seven doubles. Lindsey also caught 13 runners stealing over the course of the year.

CD’s Eily Hall finished her sophomore season with the Cardinals posting a .419 batting average and 17 RBIs.

She was second on the team in hits with 36 and had seven doubles for extra-base hits.

Pride of Iowa all-conference teams

First team

P – Caroline McAlexander, Sr., Mount Ayr

P – Sterling Berndt, Fr., Wayne

C – Camryn Jacobsen, So., Wayne

C – Abigail Barnes, Jr., Mount Ayr

IF – Emily Jones, Fr., Wayne

IF – Sam Stewart, Jr., Mount Ayr

IF – Jayda Gay, So., Martensdale-St. Marys

IF – Josie Hartman, Fr., Southeast Warren

OF – Reagan Tilley, Sr., Wayne

OF – Selena Valenzuela, Jr., Bedford

OF – Kailey Walker, Sr., Martensdale-St. Marys

UT – *TJ Stoaks, So., Lenox

UT – Hannah Sweet, Sr., Martensdale-St. Marys

UT – Alexa Anderson, So., Mount Ayr

Second team

P – Alivia Ruble, 8th grade, Southeast Warren

P – Kylee Rockhold, Fr., Central Decatur

C – Maizee Lindsey, Jr., Central Decatur

C – Madeline Myer, So., Martensdale-St. Marys

IF – Maddy Wood, Fr., Wayne

IF – Addy Reynolds, Fr., Mount Ayr

IF – Morgan Parrish, Sr., Lenox

IF – AJ Dorsey, Jr., Southeast Warren

OF – Channler Henle, So., Mount Ayr

OF – Reagan Weinheimer, Jr., Nodaway Valley

OF – McKinna Hogan, So., Lenox

UT – Kayla Yzaguirre, Jr., Lenox

UT – Riley Bell, Jr., Central Decatur

UT – Lexie Haer, Sr., Southwest Valley



Anna Parrott, Martensdale-St. Marys

Norah Lund, Southwest Valley

Brooklyn Page, Southeast Warren

Savanna Bond, Bedford

Eily Hall, Central Decatur

Kaylin Lack, East Union

Bayleigh Kellis, Wayne

Alyssa Davis, Nodaway Valley

Cassidy Nelson, Lenox

Payten Lambert, Mount Ayr

* = unanimous

Loading more