Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Cardinal baseball lands three on all-POI teams

Three Central Decatur Cardinals were selected for the Pride of Iowa all-conference teams for the 2019 baseball season.

Making the first team, Haden Leymaster and Michel Evertsen were selected as an infielder and utility, respectively.

Leymaster finished the season with a batting average of .367 with five doubles and 20 RBIs.

The fleet of foot second baseman stole 27 bases on 33 attempts and scored 26 times.

Evertsen split duties between third base, shortstop and pitcher over 31 games.

He hit .360 with an on-base percentage of .491. He lined five doubles and drove in 23 runs with a team best 32 hits.

Evertsen made 10 starts, appearing 17 times. He threw 59 1/3 innings with an ERA of 4.25 and an opponent batting average of .288.

Evertsen struck out 48 batters and finished the season with a record of 1-5 and two saves.

David Walker also received an honorable mention from the POI.

In 28 games, Walker hit .310 with 15 RBIs and an OBP of .406.

In eight starts and 14 appearance, Walker was 4-4 in 34 innings pitched. He had an ERA of 3.50 and struck out 35 batters.

Pride of Iowa all-conference teams

First team

P – *Isaac Gavin, Jr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Brennan Sefrit, Jr., Bedford.

P – Isaac Grose, Jr., Mount Ayr.

P – Brock Kyner, Sr., Southeast Warren.

C – Colby Page, Southeast Warren, Sr.

INF – Cael Cassady, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

INF – Haden Leymaster, So., Central Decatur.

INF – Kaleb Bauer, Sr., Southeast Warren.

INF – Bryce Hall, Jr.,Southeast Warren.

OF – *Carson Elbert, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

OF – Connor Eaton, Sr., Mount Ayr.

OF – Tyler Pearson, Jr., Southwest Valley.

UTL – Cole Cassady, Jr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

UTL – Michel Evertsen, Jr., Central Decatur.

Second team

P – Esa Johansen, Sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Dustin Lund, Sr., Southwest Valley.

P – Tanner Dierking, So., Southeast Warren.

P – Caelen DeVault, Fr., Nodaway Valley.

P – Keelen Klommhaus, Jr., Mount Ayr.

C – Tyler Vandewater, Jr., Nodaway Valley.

INF – Kasey Carter, Fr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

INF – Aiden Gaule, Sr., Southwest Valley.

INF – Cullen Wood, So., Lenox.

INF – Josh Hardy, Sr., East Union.

OF – Brady Hilipire, Sr., Nodaway Valley.

OF – Cade Nelson, Fr., Southeast Warren.

OF – Mason Merfeld, So., Southeast Warren.

UTL – Brooks Jacobsen, Sr., Wayne.

UTL – Jack Franey, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

UTL – Bret Whitehall, Jr., Wayne.



Lane Dittmer, Southeast Warren.

Teagan Lundquist, Southwest Valley.

Trey Baker, Martensdale St. Marys.

Spencer Buban, Wayne.

Briar Knapp, Mount Ayr.

Cole Shike, Nodaway Valley.

Colton Gordon, Lenox.

Dylan Swaney, Bedford.

Ethan Mitchell, East Union.

David Walker, Central Decatur.

* = unanimous

Loading more