Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Nine Cardinals earn all-district

Class A District 8 all-district teams were released over the weekend and nine members of the Central Decatur football team were honored with the postseason award.

Cole Pedersen was named as the district’s offensive MVP for his dual-threat ability to run and pass throughout the season.

Pedersen threw for 1,007 yards on 74-of-139 passing along with nine touchdown tosses. The junior also rushed for 925 yards and 12 touchdowns and even caught 13 passes for 213 yards and a score.

Haden Leymaster was named to the team as a wide receiver after leading the Cardinals in receptions this season with 27 for 393 yards and four touchdowns.

Austin Barnes and Dakota Reed also earned recognition for their performances on the offensive line.

Defensively, Tyke Walker and Cauy Spidle were two other Cardinal players to make the list.

Walker led CD in tackles with 70 total tackles, including two solo tackles for loss and a solo sack.

Spidle had 21 1/2 tackles as a defensive back for the Cardinals and returned two kickoffs for touchdowns on special teams.

Kaige Leymaster, Elliot Ness and Tate Hill all were named as honorable mentions for the Cardinals.

Kaige caught 16 passes for 274 yards and two touchdowns and also made 31 1/2 tackles on defense.

Ness made 39 tackles on defense along with four solo sacks while Hill had 33 tackles and two solo sacks.

Loading more