Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Iowa Farm Bureau student scholarship winners announced

Iowa students are preparing themselves to become the future leaders of agriculture and interested in a variety of areas ranging from genetics and agriculture business to education and nursing.

Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships for tuition to 175 students who plan to study agriculture at their chosen colleges and universities.

“These scholarships help students pursue their dreams and so many of those career aspirations include agriculture or support jobs in rural communities. We’re honored to help these future leaders get a start in their academic pursuits and help them with their educational goals,” said IFBF Community Resources Director Barb Lykins.

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in their chosen college or university. Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade-point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing with the college or university.

Six recipients were selected from each of the nine IFBF districts. Scholarships were awarded to children of Farm Bureau members who plan to or currently attend an accredited college, university or community college to earn two-or four-year degrees.

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture and the rural community. They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation.

Iowa Farm Bureau Federation first-time scholarship winners:

Leon: Austin DeLong, son of Robert and Cassandra DeLong, Iowa Lakes Community College

Osceola: Colin Morris, son of Gary and Karen Morris, Iowa State University

Osceola: Jenna Sandquist, daughter of Steve and Stephanie Sandquist, Iowa State University

Loading more