Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

SWCC’s PTK induction ceremony held

The Southwestern Community College (SWCC) Beta Eta Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of two-year colleges, held its induction ceremony 2:30 p.m. Sunday, March 30, in the Performing Arts Center.

Jake Waddingham, Creston News Advertiser associate editor, former Phi Theta Kappa member and SWCC graduate,was the guest speaker for the event.

Officers for the 2014-15 academic year were inducted during the ceremony. Officers include Tom Hol of Osceola, president, as well as Kendall Ross of Chariton, Jessica Pieper of Stuart, and Katrina Devore of Norwalk, vice president team.

Outgoing officers Megan Doubleday of Mount Ayr, Alex Duffy of Bondurant, and Amy Klein of Woodburn were also recognized.

New members of Phi Theta Kappa during the 2013-14 academic year included Taylor Braman, Brittany Bunker, Morgan Chapman, Dawn Daily, Katrina Devore, Kanzaidy Frank, Brandi Fry, MaKayla Gladman, Micheala Lane, Niyole Livingston, Evan Mahoney, Denise Mandi, Lisa Marnin, Rachel McElwain, Sarah McKeon, Cassidi Moses, Hanna Murphy, Sara Pettit, Jessica Pieper, Kendall Ross, Antonio (A.J.) Santon, Amy Scroggie, Devin Shields, Sierra Sleep, Michael Smith, and Jill Vanderhoof.

Sponsors for Phi Theta Kappa are Jody Nedley-Newcomb, sociology instructor, and Justin Mann, math instructor.

Loading more