Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more!

Murray’s Rider, I-35’s Vogel selected to Shrine Bowl

Coaches and players for the 2014 Iowa Shrine All-Star Football Classic have been announced.

The game will be played Saturday, July 26 at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls, beginning at 4 p.m.

The South team is being coached by Jay McKinstrey of Pella. McKinstrey is being assisted by Zach Pfantz of Ottumwa, Brian Morrison of Creston/O-M, Evan Groepper of North Polk, Eric Kellar of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont and Keith Siestra of Montezuma.

The coaching staff selected 46 players to play on the South team. Selections are made from nominations received from the high school coaches around the state.

Playing for the South squad will be area players Andrew Rider of Murray and Briar Vogel of Interstate 35.

Rider made a career of electrifying crowds with his big-play ability in every facet of the game — offense, defense and special teams.

The Murray senior rushed for 1, 557 yards and 29 touchdowns this year, while also catching six passes for 196 yards and three scores.

He intercepted seven passes over the course of the season, returning four of them for touchdowns. Rider returned two kickoffs for touchdowns this year and ran back five punts for scores.

Vogel passed for 518 yards and eight touchdowns for Interstate 35 during the 2013 season. He also proved to be a capable runner, carrying the ball 94 times for 575 yards and five touchdowns, averaging 6.1 yards per carry.

Defensively, Vogel finished second on the team with 55 total tackles. He intercepted one pass on defense.

Among those joining Rider and Vogel on the South squad are Trevor Frain of Creston/O-M, Jacob Sobotka of Mount Ayr, Brett Leshen of Albia, Chance Wursta of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Nick Peppers of Exira/EHK, Spencer Benton of Van Meter and Keegan Longabaugh of Southwest Valley.

Loading more